Autumn 2022

Happy New Year, everyone. It seems I have been rather remiss in my blogging, due to a heavy workload, so this will be a quick recap regarding what has been happening .

On 31 October we spoke about My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante. The book is set near Naples in the 1950s and paints a vivid picture of life in those days. The very large cliff hanger on the last page left me rather perplexed. So far I have not read the continuation to find out what happens.

Next up, Hamnet by Maggie O’Farrell on 28 November. It tells the story of Shapespeare’s son Hamnet, who died at age 11. This was not an easy read, but the ending redeemed some of the more difficult parts.

For 19 December we did not read Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury but rather Mr Dickens and His Christmas Carol by Samantha Silva. It was an easy read but somewhat disappointing. The incidents that ‘sparked’ different aspects of A Christmas Carol were too contrived, in my opinion, and the ghost rather too fantastic.

On 30 January our meeting will revolve around Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik, a fantasy tale set in a land called Lithvas, loosely based on Lithuania, Latvia and Russia.

Leave a comment